2018 Paddle Qld Canoe Sprint Championships: Wrap Up!

Canoe Sprint / Events / Featured / General / 22/10/2018

This year the 2018 Paddle Qld Canoe Sprint Championships were held at Wyaralong Dam, testing the new regatta course for the first time, on Sunday 21 October. The heavy rainfall over the last few weeks cast doubts on whether the event would proceed or not. The weather however cleared up just in time and provided perfect conditions for paddling.

Thank you to all 83 competitors from 20 schools across Qld and Northern NSW, their coaches/teachers and parents/supporters for your participation in the 2018 Paddle Qld Canoe Sprint Schools Championships.

Well done to the competitors, coaches and teachers at Pacific Lutheran College who were Overall Schools Champion again in 2018. Followed by 2nd Palm Beach Currumbin, and Lourdes Hill College in 3rd place. See below for a full list of points.

Congratulations to Claudia Sommerville from Lourdes Hill College on winning the Coghill Family Shield. This award is for the paddler who demonstrates outstanding effort, exhibits courage and determination, shows respect for officials and fellow competitors, supports younger and/or less experienced paddlers, and has the determination to improve in the sport of kayaking. Full list of nominees below.

A special thanks to the many volunteers who assisted in the event, and the support of clubs/schools including Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club, Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club, Brisbane Canoeing, Lourdes Hill College and Pacific Lutheran College.

Paddle Queensland would like to acknowledge the support of the following organisations:-

  • Paddle Qld Sprints Committee – Cath Parker, Event Organiser, Matt Ingerman and Alicen Warriner. committee members and all of the event volunteers who made this event happen;
  • Rowing Queensland– for their assistance and support in the lead up to and during the event.
  • Queensland Government, Department of Housing and Public Works – for their continuing support of sport and recreation in Qld.

Results are available at https://regattas.paddle.org.au/?results=1167.

Photos available at Paddle Qld Facebook Page.

School Champion – Point Score

School Points
Pacific Lutheran 205
Palm Beach Currumbin QLD 105
Lourdes Hill College QLD 94
Elanora State High 32
St Rita’s College 24
Elanora State 19
Queensland 16
Mountain Creek State High 11
Miami High School Qld 10
Mathew Flinders Anglican 8
Ambrose Treacy College QLD 7
Currumbin Primary 6
Stuartholme College 6
Rivers Secondary College 5
St Josephs Gregory Terr 5
Tallebudgera State School 3
Byron Bay High School NSW 3
North Lakes State College 2
Brightwater State School QLD 1
Kadina High School 1

Coghill Family Award Nominees

Claudia Sommerville Lourdes Hill College
William Prentice Elanora State High School
Lucy Findlay Palm Beach Currumbin
PLC U11 + U12 TK2 Girls Pacific Lutheren College
Jordan Titmus Mountain Creek State High
Stella Hosking Stuartholme College
Thomas Maclachlan Elanora State High School
Jack Gothorp Pacific Lutheren College
Rhys Campbell Elanora State High School