Australian Ocean Racing Series Round 1- Gold Coast Classic Ocean Race

Canoe Ocean Racing / Events / Featured / General / 10/09/2017

Round 1 of the Shaw & Partners / Anytime Fitness Australian Ocean Racing Series, kicked off in style at The Gold Coast Classic Ocean Race held on Saturday September 9th with the who’s who of the Gold Coast surf life saving scene all present and hunting hard to be the 2017 Champion.

Shannon Eckstein, Jeremy Cotter, Mackenzie Hynard, Kenny Wallace, Sam Norton, Mark Anderson, Karla Gilbert, Dean Gardiner, Yanda Morison, Georgia Laird, Jake Jensen, Matt Nottage, Nathan Meyer, Bruce Taylor, Guy Andrews, Dane Sloss, Maddie Spencer, Tommy Woodriff and Bruce Hoppa Hopkins were amongst some of the legends who rolled up at North Kirra Beach on Saturday morning, getting ready for a cracking race.

Jeremy Cotter pulled off a race victory with a 15 second win over Iron Man legend Shannon Eckstien with Sam Norton, 3rd, Vaikobi’s Macca Hynard 4th and Olympic Champion Kenny Wallace in 5th. Well done to Jeremy in retaining the title of 2017-18 Qld Ocean Racing Champion – Open Men’s!

In the Women’s SUP, legend ex Iron Woman and now legend SUP racer Karla Gilbert, cleared out to take a big win over Vanessa Caley and Karen Masson. Congratulations to Karla on winning the title of 2017-18 Qld Ocean Racing Champion – Open Women’s!

Back in the ski’s, the legend of the ocean and the man responsible for the Australian Ocean Racing Series, Dean Gardiner got the Team Ocean Paddler double fired up with ex Olympian Yanda Morison in the back seat, to take the win in the doubles from Heath Brown/Todd Murray and Brook Crosse/Peter Winton. Congratulations to Dean and Yanda on winning the title of 2017-18 Qld Ocean Racing Champion – Open Teams!

More race details and photos available here.